The XK9 “Bones” Trilogy

The XK9 “Bones” Trilogy

Meet XK9 Rex, his Pack of uplifted police dogs, and their human allies, in Jan S. Gephardt’s XK9 “Bones” Trilogy. They’re about to rock the Universe . . .

The XK9 "Bones" Trilogy header.
Many thanks to both Jody A. Lee and Lucy A. Synk for this image! The Ranan sky-windows background is a detail from the cover for A Bone to Pick, © 2020 by Jody A. Lee. The portrait heads of Rex and Shady are © 2020 by Lucy A. Synk.

What happens in this series?

The XK9 “Bones” Trilogy

Can a pack of uplifted police dogs find a home among the stars . . . or will their creators hound them to extinction?

The XK9s are super-smart dogs, bio-engineered and cyber-enhanced to be cutting edge law enforcement tools. But do smart and verbal equal sapient? In the star systems of the Alliance of the Peoples, that’s a legal distinction with potentially deadly consequences for XK9 Rex and his Pack of canine super-sleuths.

When Rex, his Pack, and their human allies on Rana Habitat Space Station tackle a grisly mass-murder case, more than an interstellar pleasure ship blows wide open. Now the people behind the XK9 Project, and their sponsors in the system-dominating Transmondian government, are desperate. They’ll do all they can to erase the evidence of their international conspiracy, before inspectors from the powerful Alliance of the Peoples can investigate.

Will Rex and his Pack run down the perps and defend their sapience claim? Or will their enemies destroy them?

The Books in Order: